Do Pavement Ants easily climb up corners?

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

TheRoyalAlate

Do Pavement Ants easily climb up corners?

Thu May 03, 2018 10:01 pm

Hi there, I am new to ant keeping with one Tetramorium Sp. E queen, and I am trying to build my own outworld but I can't find an empty tank that is the right size and has round edges. I can get an acrylic tank thats fairly large, but I am hesitant to buy hit for fear of the ants being able to climb out on the corners. If I put on vaseline, will they still be able to escape? I realize this species of ant is one of the easiest to keep, so I imagine they can't be hard to stop from escaping.
Thanks in advance! :D

idahoantgirl

Re: Do Pavement Ants easily climb up corners?

Fri May 04, 2018 1:55 pm

I've kept A tetramaorium for coming on two years now. They fill a hybrid nest completely. Here is what I have found:

Best barrier: DRY baby powder (no rubbing alcohol) When I used baby powder Plus Alcohol, my tetramorium could climb over it real easy. While I haven't tried vasaline, I think they would be able to climb it fairly easy. Also they would start accumulating garbage on the barrier :?

How to apply: dab a cotton ball in dry baby powder and then dap it onto the upper rim of the outworld about an inch deep. It will leave a thin film of powder just barely clinging to the walls. I haven't had hardly any escapes with this method. Note that if you live in a humid area you may have to change out the baby powder more frequently.