JohnyDL Journal [0 - the before]

Share your Ant Journals, Youtube Channels, and Blogs with the global ant community

Moderator: ooper01

JohnyDL

JohnyDL Journal [0 - the before]

Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:23 am

Okay I'm new to this and possibly a late comer to being new to this at 25 but I've had this curiosity about ants and hive minds for a long while. For over a decade I've played a number of ant related games, some destructive some caring, online and off, but I was always interested in how behaviours manifested. I'm a real computer nerd but it seems modelling ant life isn't as simple task as it looks.

I really got serious about it 3 years ago hunting for ant mimicking software but there's really nothing that does everything you want to see, sure some 'ants' can procedurally build ant looking nests but they use few ants to build impractically large nests for their needs there's no queen making brood depending on the space available, and so on and so on with complaints. I have a similar list of complaints about over ground ant simulators, ranging from simANT to google's Ant AI Challenge, that don't show foraging patterns so much as either go for randomness or they can read the entire terrain and map to the nearest food.

Notable ant fiction books I've read are Kill Decision by Daniel Suarez where weaver ants have been scaled up for human warfare, a terrifying prospect and the Speaker for the Dead series by Orson Scott Card, the continuation of Ender's Story from Ender's Game, he has found the last queen of the alien race known as Formics because of their insect like bodies, though the books don't strictly revolve around ants there's this Aiua idea that binds together a colony and is a hive mind that Ender can speak to and there's an awful lot of ideas in there that just have me fascinated.