Moving Brood to Tubing

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

UserJB007

Moving Brood to Tubing

Wed Jul 15, 2020 7:55 am

Hello,

First time posting here! I've recently moved a colony of Camponotus Pennsylvanicus into the AC hybrid nest I purchased. I am an absolute amateur at keeping, but have been an ant nerd my entire life. They have been in for a few days now and am starting to notice daily patterns/routines.

Each morning they start to move the brood in all stages of development out of the nest and into a section of tubing. They do not move the entire brood, but about half. It remains this way for most of the day before they return it to the nest in the evening. I have two thoughts and am wondering if it's likely one, both, or something I'm not thinking of.

Temp. - The room they are kept in stays around 75F through the day. While I looking for a suitable heat source I am using a lamp at distance to attempt to warm the nest a bit. It's far enough away that this makes half of the nest warmer than the room. Could this be the reason?

Humidity - When I first placed the nest and wet the cotton media, I'm worried I added too much water for these ants. There is a fog over a large portion of the glass. I'm worried this has brought the humidity too high and they move the brood out as the house warms and the humidity rises too high. I've since removed the standing water in the reservoir to try and gradually bring this down. I've been guessing that this is the reason, but have no true idea.