Florida Nuptial Flights and Species

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

CaseJ121

Florida Nuptial Flights and Species

Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:54 pm

Hello, I live in Northern Florida. I was wondering if anyone knew a good species that was having its nuptial flight about now. I'm an absolute beginner and would love something that doesn't bite haha. I recently captured a velvet ant, thinking it was a pogo, and had to release it *facepalm*. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I do, however, already know how to take care of ants once they're captured.

dinoman9877

Re: Florida Nuptial Flights and Species

Tue Sep 20, 2016 11:39 pm

I think if you're lucky, Lasius niger and neoniger are still having their flights. Basic species to raise but good to start with. I'm getting some test tubes Thursday and I'm going to see if I can get lucky.

Batspiderfish

Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:07 am

Just a reminder that North American Lasius niger exist in isolated populations, mostly in the Rocky Mountains. It's very unlikely that anybody is finding Lasius niger here.
If you enjoy my expertise and identifications, please do not put wild populations at risk of disease by releasing pet colonies. We are responsible to give our pets the best care we can manage for the rest of their lives.

dinoman9877

Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:28 am

Batspiderfish wrote:Just a reminder that North American Lasius niger exist in isolated populations, mostly in the Rocky Mountains. It's very unlikely that anybody is finding Lasius niger here.
Why are they the 'common black ant' if they're so rare? e_e

Better question. How are they practically all over the world but not in random places like Kentucky or Florida?

CaseJ121

Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:35 am