Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi Nuptial Flight Thread!!!!!

Where and when are you finding queen ants? A section to share nuptial flight schedules by ant species and locality

Moderator: ooper01

AuntLinda

Re: Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi Nuptial Flight Thread!!!!!

Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:11 pm

south west florida july 23 2016. I saw these today by my car. Many were flying around. I am new to ant keeping and my supplies should be arriving within a day or two. I am hoping to be able to catch one fertilized. Any tips?

AuntLinda

Sun Jul 24, 2016 9:54 am

Durant wrote:Awesome!!! They r Solenopsis invicta queens that u have there!!! AKA RIFA AKA Red Imported Fire Ants!!! :P

Ok you are the second to tell me they are that type. Awesome to know what i've got here in the yard. We also have a whole lot of red fire ants. I am still looking for more info so if you have anything handy on this particular type would be great.

AuntLinda

Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:01 am

Durant wrote:Ok then Fire Ants r highly aggressive and will overpower prey and threats by stinging!!! They can live in water for periods of time so if ur queen is accidentally drowned don't throw her away and see if she'll come back to life! They r a very explosive species and can expand in short notice so get ready with those formicariums!!!! The queens of this species r fully claustral which means no feeding them anything during colony founding!!! Hope this helped!!! :P

So these are very similar to the very red ones that are very common in my yard? And yes that was good to know, about not needing to feed her while tending her eggs.

AuntLinda

Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:06 am

Durant wrote:Yes they r the same species!!! :P

AHA! Well I am a tiny bit disappointed, I thought I found something slightly less aggressive. I do have my first fornicarium in route. I am wondering if my abilities being so new are good enough to handle these.

AuntLinda

Sun Jul 24, 2016 10:17 am