It's my first time keeping a queen ant and I need help

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

weegeefiji

It's my first time keeping a queen ant and I need help

Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:51 am

I didn't really plan to keep ants and start a colony this soon as I just started watching ant videos and learning more about them recently. But 5 days ago, a queen trap-jaw ant found its way to my room possibly entering from the window. I took it as a sign. I didn't know if it has mated or not but I still decided to take it in and try to potentially help it thrive and build her colony.

On the first night, she laid an egg! So I thought I was doing something right. I don't have a test tube, so I just kept her in a small round container and try to keep her hydrated by giving her water through a ball of cotton. The next day, she laid another egg but this time I noticed a pattern. After she lays the eggs, she completely abandons them. I had to move the first egg away because it was starting to inch closer and closer to where I left the honey and I didn't want it to "drown" in it. Am I not supposed to touch the eggs? Is that why seemed to have rejected them now. The eggs don't look as healthy as it used to when I first saw them.

Please give me some pointers. I really want this queen and her babies to survive.

Hunter36o

Re: It's my first time keeping a queen ant and I need help

Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:27 am

The universe what's you to keep ants so.

I'm not sure about trap jaw ants in terms of keeping but regardless of species you should try get something like a test tube set up asap. The idea is to mimic a closed and safe environment that acts like a little tunnel in soils and such, I hope she is mated for you and the space is just freaking her out alittle which is why looks like she is abandoning the eggs.