Simple Questions about Ants

General discussions about ants

Moderator: ooper01

SlidingCool

Simple Questions about Ants

Thu Mar 03, 2022 4:41 pm

How long can I watch my ant colony before I return them into the darkness?

Also, I have a Roomba, and will my test tube colony be okay if the Roomba hits my drawer and might shake them or even roll the tube?
Currently Keeping:
Camponotus Pennsylvanicus (Only Queen and Brood) :mrgreen:

SlidingCool

Re: Simple Questions about Ants

Thu Mar 03, 2022 6:16 pm

Never mind, I can use an AC test tube rack. My 1st question is still up for answering though.
Currently Keeping:
Camponotus Pennsylvanicus (Only Queen and Brood) :mrgreen:

AntsLuxembourg

Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:00 am

SlidingCool wrote:

Also, I have a Roomba, and will my test tube colony be okay if the Roomba hits my drawer and might shake them or even roll the tube?
Well for the first question, I recommend to only disturb them for a little bit during founding. Mainly because the queen might get stressed out and start eating her eggs and larvae.

For the Roomba, I doubt that a 2-4 kg Roomba will be able to push a shelf with drawers that weights 3-10 Kg at least. But a constant bump (one bump every few minutes or once per hour) might disburb the colony.
Doing some proper research is the best way to start an antcolony.

Need help or want to help? https://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=18153#p70566

Currently not keeping any ants anymore.

SolenopsisKeeper

Fri Mar 04, 2022 10:29 pm

AntsLuxembourg wrote:
Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:00 am
SlidingCool wrote:

Well for the first question, I recommend to only disturb them for a little bit during founding. Mainly because the queen might get stressed out and start eating her eggs and larvae.

For the Roomba, I doubt that a 2-4 kg Roomba will be able to push a shelf with drawers that weights 3-10 Kg at least. But a constant bump (one bump every few minutes or once per hour) might disburb the colony.