Wild ants acting odly.

General discussions about ants

Moderator: ooper01

Dawson

Wild ants acting odly.

Sun Dec 26, 2021 12:35 pm

Hello, I am a novice ant keeper with a colony of camponotus penslyvanicus, and it is the day after christmas and still havn't hibernated. Noticed something even more odd today though. On the stairs of my church there was a massive swarm of solenopsis ants, among there ranks where several winged queen elates. Its been very warm lately as i live in alabamma but ive still never witnessed this behaviour in ants before. Does anyone know if its probably due to the weather or something else?

SolenopsisKeeper

Re: Wild ants acting odly.

Sun Dec 26, 2021 3:17 pm

Dawson wrote:
Hello, I am a novice ant keeper with a colony of camponotus penslyvanicus, and it is the day after christmas and still havn't hibernated. Noticed something even more odd today though. On the stairs of my church there was a massive swarm of solenopsis ants, among there ranks where several winged queen elates. Its been very warm lately as i live in alabamma but ive still never witnessed this behaviour in ants before. Does anyone know if its probably due to the weather or something else?
I asked on Solenopsis, they fly year round. It is somewhere in forum under my posts. As for Camponotus, I sometimes see alates and have observed what I have called “late flights” where ant species locally fly as it gets cold. This is not a scientific term, just something I observed
When you accidentally reply to yourself…

AntsLuxembourg

Wed Jan 05, 2022 6:31 am

Dawson wrote:
Since those Solenopsis might be invasive they don't hibernate and therefor as soon as it gets warm they be like *Lets travel and conquer the world by reproduction.