Hello from South Africa!

Meet and Greet for New Members

Moderator: ooper01

BugMansLife

Hello from South Africa!

Mon Apr 11, 2022 4:41 am

Hello,
I'm an entomologist from South Africa that is keeping ants as a hobby mostly. I have been keeping ants for over 13 years now and I'm still learning a lot everyday!

Currently I have quite a few colonies, the most notable being:
Camponotus fulvopilosus
Odontomachus troglodytes
Plectroctena mandibularis
Oecophylla longinoda
Myrmecaria natalensis
Camponotus maculatus
Camponotus vestitus
Camponotus rufoglaucus
Camponotus empedocles
Camponotus cinctellus
Pheidole crassinoda
Crematogaster castenae
Tetramorium natalensi
s (Still in founding)

I have joined the forum to learn more and to get some help with my Oecophylla longinoda.

SYUTEO

Re: Hello from South Africa!

Mon Apr 11, 2022 6:09 am

Welcome! Anyway, I'm interested in how you keep Plectroctena, do they only eat milipedes or do they also eat other insects?

SolenopsisKeeper

Mon Apr 11, 2022 6:49 am

BugMansLife wrote:
Hello,
I'm an entomologist from South Africa that is keeping ants as a hobby mostly. I have been keeping ants for over 13 years now and I'm still learning a lot everyday!

Camponotus fulvopilosus
Odontomachus troglodytes
Oecophylla longinoda
Myrmecaria natalensis
Camponotus maculatus
Camponotus vestitus
Camponotus rufoglaucus
Camponotus empedocles
Camponotus cinctellus
Pheidole crassinoda
Crematogaster castenae
Tetramorium natalensi
s (Still in founding)

I have joined the forum to learn more and to get some help with my Oecophylla longinoda.
Finally another user who also knows Odontomachus! Most people don’t keep these, and I am interested what you feed yours. Mine only eat flies and scrambled eggs(Why eggs?).
When you accidentally reply to yourself…

BugMansLife

Mon Apr 11, 2022 7:03 am

SYUTEO wrote:
Mon Apr 11, 2022 6:09 am
Welcome! Anyway, I'm interested in how you keep Plectroctena, do they only eat milipedes or do they also eat other insects?