Queen identification

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

Omegabeanos

Queen identification

Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:12 pm

I found a queen ant who was around 15mm long and was primarily a deepish red color, she was noticeably fuzzy with 1mm long hairs, she was found inside my house at Daniel WY, in the U.S when I picked her up she squeaked, her wings went past her thorax, which seemed to be in segments, there were multiple overlaps on said thorax. I sadly didn’t get any photos but I hope this detail is enough to get an approximate species/genus.

SYUTEO

Re: Queen identification

Mon Aug 02, 2021 9:18 pm

Does she look like Manica? If not then Camponotus since those are the only large ants found in WY.

Omegabeanos

Wed Aug 04, 2021 1:44 pm

It was a camponotus queen, I greatly appreciate the help and I hope to have and see helpful replies and questions.

terrellgriffin

Wed Dec 15, 2021 8:41 am

Firstly, I am not a professional in ants and their relevant types. However, I know enough to make a perfect purchase. You see, firstly, we observe things around us and develop an instant sensation. In other words, we consider something from our memory, whereas in reality, it is completely different. This also goes the other way when we predict something false while in truth, we are on the correct side. Thus, as you say, you saw the Queen ant, and you have described it as it is. Moreover, you even have had a look at its movements and possibly every inch of detail.