Forum Suggestions for a Better Community

Make your suggestions here.
Chiumanfu

Forum Suggestions for a Better Community

Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:57 am

I'm new to ant keeping and appreciate all the knowledgeable people here, sharing their experiences.

I'm also very new to this community so take this advice with a grain of salt. I have been administrator of more than few phpbb forums in the past so I know what works and what doesn't.

Suggestion #1 - Consolidate all the duplicate forums
This forum is very disorganized. A lot of posts with legitimate questions are never even seen, let alone answered. The more questions answered means the user sticks around longer. The longer they stick around, the more they become a contributing member.
  • The Main Forum, General Ant Talk, Ant Keeping For Beginners, ANT FAQ, Ant Care and Ant Keeping can all be consolidated into one forum.
  • Ant journals, Ant photography can be combined.
  • Myrmecology, museums can be slotted together too
Having too many sub-forums has a negative effect on organization, which is after all, the whole point of sub-forums.

Suggestion #2 - Clean up announcements and stickies. Use a theme that segregates sticky posts.
Look at the Ant Main Forum. The whole first page is dominated by sub forums and announcements (some of which can be consolidated).

The second page is all sticky posts. Some are legitimate stickies but half seem to be random posts that got stickied. This one confuses be because it looks like the ability to create a sticky post is enabled for some. I know that I saw that option when I wrote my first post... but I no longer see it now.

It is also a great help to differentiate stickies. This can be as simple as a unique icon and is a common feature of a lot of theme templates.

I have to scroll all the way down to the third page before I actually see any recent posts.