First ant catch, ever!

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

Sinprex

First ant catch, ever!

Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:32 pm

Hello,

I have been a long time follower of AntsCanada and have always wanted to try my hand at raising a colony. Unfortunately I have not had a lot of time to find a queen. Today, on my bedroom floor I found this guy/gal. It looks to be a queen to me, but I am far from an expert. Could someone tell me what I found here? Thanks so much.

https://imgur.com/a/5OtLuKt

TheRealAntMan

Re: First ant catch, ever!

Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:50 pm

Measurements and Location please.
An ants' strength can be rivaled by few animals compared to relative body size.

Sinprex

Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:34 pm

TheRealAntMan wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:50 pm
Measurements and Location please.
Phoenix, AZ. ~1.65 cm. in length.

AntKeeperNewb

Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:04 am

this kind of looks like a bee to me, im not a expert though :/

AntsIkhlef

Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:35 am

AntKeeperNewb wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:04 am
this kind of looks like a bee to me, im not a expert though :/
No it’s a Queen ant!
Beginner here!
I am new to this and I have just founded my first colonies! :geek:

Keeper of:

2x Lasius niger
1x Lasius neglectus/i]

🐜❤️4ever

MorbidBugg

Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:45 am

I'm still growing my identification skills but yes that is a queen... question is one of her antenna damaged? One picture looks like it's gone.. maybe just the perfect angle..
Ants are life's most successful invaders. Understand and respect that power.

AntKeeperNewb

Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:23 am

MorbidBugg wrote:
I'm still growing my identification skills but yes that is a queen... question is one of her antenna damaged? One picture looks like it's gone.. maybe just the perfect angle..
only reason it looks like a bee to me is because of its big almond shaped eyes on that 1st pic, but like I said im no expert :/

MorbidBugg

Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:44 am

AntKeeperNewb wrote: