Could I be so lucky?

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

Ants101

Could I be so lucky?

Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:12 am

So about a month ago I stumbled across a Camponotus Queen and with the help of the forum members have had her identified as closely as possible. I’m pleased to report she’s doing very well and I do believe I have one larva just beginning pupa stage as there looks to be a cocoon in there so I’m extremely excited.

Here’s a photo of her just a day or so ago. Is that a cocoon?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1w2Q96gmiSFlh8eh2EpqWSPImPmxlMEbO/view?usp=drivesdk

Anyway last night I was making a snack in the kitchen and sitting on the wall right in front of me looked to be another small Queen. She still had her wings attached and I’m not very experienced and the ant was rather small in size so I thought it might be an alate. So I bottled her/him up and as soon as I did that the ant dropped its wings.

So on to the details and I would again ask and thank the forum members for their much valued and appreciated knowledge. If I was to hazard a guess I’d say Campontus consobrinus.

Date: 01/01/2022
Time: 7:00pm
Size: Approx 10mm

I apologise for the photos but she’s so damn small.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VgjJCtzN1_KQh8cXuKtAFryyETtqe5hp/view?usp=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/11TA2BRy70NUqWror4nA0GWgCSGgL6kEK/view?usp=drivesdk

AntsLuxembourg

Re: Could I be so lucky?

Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:26 am

Ants101 wrote:
Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:12 am
So about a month ago I stumbled across a Camponotus Queen and with the help of the forum members have had her identified as closely as possible. I’m pleased to report she’s doing very well and I do believe I have one larva just beginning pupa stage as there looks to be a cocoon in there so I’m extremely excited.

Here’s a photo of her just a day or so ago. Is that a cocoon?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1w2Q96gmiSFlh8eh2EpqWSPImPmxlMEbO/view?usp=drivesdk