9/20/2016, Chattanooga, TN, USA

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

JayandDo

9/20/2016, Chattanooga, TN, USA

Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:23 pm

Today I caught an ant that I believe to be a queen ant. I am fairly new to having ant colonies and such so It might just be a large worker. However I would like to know if any of you all can figure out the species and if it is a queen.
Info:
She seems to have one node between her thorax and abdomen.
She has sparse small hairs all over body.
She is a redish-brown color.
She was found on a cement porch checking out the cracks and holes in it.
She was found during the evening~7:00 PM
It was around 75-80 F outside at the time.
It rain here 2 days ago.
She is around 9mm long.
She was found without wings but I think I can make out wing scars.
She doesn't look like the other worker ants that I have saw in the area. (Fire ants, Carpenter ants, Tiny black ants)
She seems very calm. She only seems to use her anntanae to feel the surrounding area.
http://imgur.com/a/dTskI

JayandDo

Re: 9/20/2016, Chattanooga, TN, USA

Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:33 pm

Durant wrote:She's a Solenopsis invicta queen!!! Red Imported Fire Ant
Hmm Thats not exactly what I wanted for my first ant colony, lol. Ill give it a try! So your sure its a queen? Do they fly around this time or is she from a moving colony?

idahoantgirl

Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:36 pm

JayandDo wrote:
Durant wrote:She's a Solenopsis invicta queen!!! Red Imported Fire Ant
Hmm Thats not exactly what I wanted for my first ant colony, lol. Ill give it a try! So your sure its a queen? Do they fly around this time or is she from a moving colony?
100 percent queen.
Proverbs 6:6-8

Go to the ant, you sluggard;
consider its ways and be wise!
It has no commander,
no overseer or ruler,
yet it stores its provisions in summer
and gathers its food at harvest.

Keeping Tetramorium immigrans, Tapinoma Sessile

Batspiderfish

Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:43 pm