I think I caught a Lasius Umbratus queen! UK, Early July

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

MissMusket

I think I caught a Lasius Umbratus queen! UK, Early July

Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:06 pm

Hi everyone,

I got into ants a month or so ago, and was excited about catching my own now it's getting into nuptial flight season. I have a lot of Lasius Niger and Flavia nests in my garden, and some type of Myrmica at work. Last week, I saw my first queen, wandering around in the evening! I caught them, (one has wings), and have kept them in test tubes. I have found it very hard to ID them, since I'm pretty new at this, but they look unlike the other, more common ants I'm familiar with. I gave them some insect jelly to tide them over until I have them IDed.

They are very dark red/brown, with brighter red legs. They have a very wide, heart shaped head, and they are around 8mm long. I'm only including pics of the wingless queen, because I couldn't get good pics of the winged one, but I'm sure they are the same species.

If they are Umbratus, I'll release them, because I can't really take care of parasitic ants (what with not having any colonies at all!), but it would have been awesome to have caught an unusual ant anyway!

MissMusket

Re: I think I caught a Lasius Umbratus queen! UK, Early July

Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:11 pm

http://imgur.com/gallery/MCsXXxV

^pics, since my first attempt failed...

Good2Know15

Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:10 am

MissMusket wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:06 pm
Hi everyone,