Oklahoma City, OK - September 22nd, 2018

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

CyberSushi

Oklahoma City, OK - September 22nd, 2018

Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:09 am

Hi guys I'm pretty new to actually keeping an ant colony and I've only ever had that kid's ant farm toy way back when. I found this one in my backyard at around 4pm after a few rainy days and at first, I wasn't even sure if she was a queen (I'm still not sure). I would definitely appreciate it if you guys could identify it and give me tips as to how to raise a colony! I've been thinking it's a Crematogaster sp. Oh and if you need another picture, I'll be glad to oblige.

CyberSushi

Re: Oklahoma City, OK - September 22nd, 2018

Fri Sep 28, 2018 3:31 am

I forgot to mention that the length is approximately 8mm.

TheRealAntMan

Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:46 pm

Crematogaster is easily/accurately IDed with the workers of the genus.
An ants' strength can be rivaled by few animals compared to relative body size.

CyberSushi

Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:50 am

TheRealAntMan wrote:
Thanks but that doesn't help me at all because there aren't any workers, or eggs even.

AntsDakota

Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:48 pm

CyberSushi wrote:
TheRealAntMan wrote:
Thanks but that doesn't help me at all because there aren't any workers, or eggs even.
So you'll just have to wait a while, 3 months to be exact.
"God made every kind of wild beasts and every kind of livestock and every kind of creeping things;" (including ants) "and God saw that it was good." Genesis 1:25

TheRealAntMan

Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:07 pm

She probably won't be laying any eggs until next spring.
An ants' strength can be rivaled by few animals compared to relative body size.

CyberSushi

Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:44 pm

AntsDakota wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:48 pm
CyberSushi wrote:
TheRealAntMan wrote:
So you'll just have to wait a while, 3 months to be exact.
TheRealAntMan wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 5:07 pm
She probably won't be laying any eggs until next spring.