How often do I feed my colony

Posts and questions relating to ant diet & nutrition. Let us know what you’re feeding your ants.

Moderator: ooper01

BlindeGearstring

How often do I feed my colony

Mon May 24, 2021 1:44 pm

I am new to ant keeping and am about to go ant queen hunting. I want to know how often you feed your ants insects and sugar? What should I use for sugar? Should I fee the ants sugar and insects at the same time or different times?

PTasker15

Re: How often do I feed my colony

Tue May 25, 2021 6:27 pm

Queens(unless semi-claustral) do not need food as they have their own reserves. A new colony should be given a drop of sugar/honey to start them up and some protein.

Watch AntsAustralia videos, especially these three;

How to Catch a Queen Ant
How to Raise a Queen Ant
How to Raise an Ant Colony
Keeping ants for 6 years now.

Current Species: Camponotus pennsylvanicus, Camponotus decipiens,Camponotus snellingi Solenopsis invicta,Nylanderia sp,Brachmyrmex patagonicus,Pheidole obscurothorax,Pheidole moerens,Pachycondyla harpax

RuinedDrone

Wed May 26, 2021 6:58 am

Ants require (like many animals) two basic things from there food.

1. Energy and this is what sugars (carbs) provide
2. Protien for there physical structure (what there organs and bodies are made of)

They also of course need fresh water.

So once the first workers are out then the colony will start needing both protien (for the delevoping brood) and carbs / suger for all the colony to provide energy. Workers still need some protein but as Ants once adult dont grow by shedding there ectoskeleton there requirment for protien is less.

But what this should tell you is you need to feed a growing colony both Protein and Carbs. Depending on species this will determin what type and amount is required.