An antkeeping tip and experiment request

Posts and questions relating to ant diet & nutrition. Let us know what you’re feeding your ants.

Moderator: ooper01

MCWren

An antkeeping tip and experiment request

Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:31 pm

Of course I know I'm an ant noob and I've never had a colony before, but here I am nonetheless, giving advice to you. Two days ago, I decided I would feed my favorite queen, a Camponotus chromaiodes. I took a small piece of aluminum foil, stabbed a mealworm with a toothpick, and squeezed some mealworm guts onto the aluminum foil. I also put some honey on the foil. I then put the foil into my queen's test tube, put the test tube in a duct tape "holster" I made for the test tube (to block out light), and then waited about 15 minutes, checking every once in a while to watch my queen eat. I proceeded to remove the foil and put the queen back in my warm, dark closet. The next day, I looked at my queen's larvae, and they were MUCH bigger, and there were more of them. I encourage you guys (and girls) to try this, and tell me your results. Try out different insects: mealworms, dubia roaches, superworms, etc. See which insect works the best. If you have a lot of queens of the same species, *cough* Madvampy *cough*, then try a different feeder insect for a few different queens, as well as with and without honey, and report the results to this thread, for the betterment of the antkeeping hobby and faster development of our queens. Thank you.

larynx

Re: An antkeeping tip and experiment request

Tue Jun 21, 2016 5:54 pm