Will this setup work?

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

dustbunnycatcher

Will this setup work?

Sun Jul 17, 2022 7:39 pm

I am new to keeping ants and I'm planning my first formicarium. I have access to a laser and 3d printer so I decided to design my own. I think this design will work but I wanted to get input before I put it together.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/yUTwgxXGxpPnptvU8

This is for tetramorium ants.

SolenopsisKeeper

Re: Will this setup work?

Sun Jul 17, 2022 9:49 pm

dustbunnycatcher wrote:
Sun Jul 17, 2022 7:39 pm
I am new to keeping ants and I'm planning my first formicarium. I have access to a laser and 3d printer so I decided to design my own. I think this design will work but I wanted to get input before I put it together.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/yUTwgxXGxpPnptvU8

This is for tetramorium ants.
Whoa! What deigning program did you use? Auto desk?

I really love the canopy foraging area, but it seems your water chamber is a bit big for 3d Printed material. I am not sure if it will rise, or if it will not. May want to put the water chambers on the side, as that way you know they will get water. What is your measurements in? Mm? Inches? Cm? What do you plan as an outworld “glass”? I have had experience with acrylic, which worked out pretty well. What is the nest made out of?(3d, printed, hydrostone, ytong, plaster, etc). If it’s 3d printed make sure to use PLA. Pretty sure it’s biodegradable.
When you accidentally reply to yourself…

dustbunnycatcher

Mon Jul 18, 2022 11:20 am

I am using Rhino for my modeling. I only bought it a couple of months ago and I'm still trying to learn how to use it.

I will be using acrylic because a laser can't cut glass, unfortunately.