I need feedback on my design and plans!

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

Hawkeye

I need feedback on my design and plans!

Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:43 pm

Hello Antfarmers!

I am completely new to keeping ants, in fact, I still have to start... I would love some feedback from you guys on my design for an enclosure. I have based this idea loosely on the youtube videos from AntsCanada, combining the floating island, the golden springs and other elements, but any input will be appreciated.

ImageImageImageImageImage

I plan to house a colony of carpenter ants (Camponotus ligniperda) which are more common in other parts of Europe ( I live in the Netherlands) but do naturally occur in our country as well. The terrarium part in the middle is 68cm wide, 43 cm deep and 40 cm high, giving them 103l / 27 gallons of digging space...

The worker ants can grow up to 1,5cm in length, so the setup should be about 45 times their body length. Now I assume these ants normally travel considerable distances in the forest to forage for food ( I could be wrong ), so I am not completely sure if this setup is adequate. Developing from an egg into a worker could take up to 10 weeks, so the colony probably won't outgrow the terrarium very quickly but still, I am eager to hear what you guys think.

I read that these ants prefer to build their nests in (rotting) wood or under stones. This could actually work to my advantage as adding pieces of wood and rock, would create some height, increase the traversable surface area, make for an interesting environment and hopefully increase their visibility as well.