Messor Barbarus formicarium design

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

Good2Know15

Messor Barbarus formicarium design

Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:48 am

Hi there,

I've been keeping ants for 2 years now with a few small Lasius colonies and one big Messor Barbarus colony of 1 queen and about 50-60 workers. Their test tube is placed in a small outworld and it's now full with ants, so I've been planning to build them a larger formicarium with a big forage area made out of an old aquarium. The aquarium is 100 x 40 x 50 cm (lenght, width, height). I will make 3 or 4 satellite nests from Y-tong and move my ants into the smallest one so that they don't have too much space at first. I will also make sure to close the others and only open them one by one when more nesting space for the colony is needed. I just want to ask if you think that the outworld on top would be too big for a colony of 50+ ants or if it's okay like that? And do you think that making multiple satellite nests is good for a Messor Sp. colony?

Here's a drawing of my idea:

Let me know what you think about the design :)
Also known as Ants_Netherlands18 on Instagram

Keeper of:
I have kept 48 species of 18 different genera of ants over the course of 3.5 years of antkeeping :)

For species ID, feel free to message me privately!

Camponotus

Re: Messor Barbarus formicarium design

Mon Jun 24, 2019 11:13 am

It's not a problem put the ants in and make sure you give them food close to entrance because they will be scared to go out far because they are small colony

Camponotus

Mon Jun 24, 2019 11:14 am

Satelite nest is ok

Good2Know15

Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:21 am

Thank you!
I also want to know how big the nesting and seed chambers should be for my Messor Barbarus colony? And how deep? :roll:

Keeper of: