What's The Importance of Wet Cotton Positioning?

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

RuggedRanger

What's The Importance of Wet Cotton Positioning?

Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:08 pm

Hey all! I'm pretty new to the ant keeping and I have a question: I have my colony (Camponotus Pennsylvanicus) in a test tube with the water dam on the far end, like usual. The queen lives against that wall of cotton, rarely venturing farther out. So I'm left to wonder...

...is she there because she wants the moisture (I've read that they aren't huge on needing it?) or is it because it's the farthest place away from the opening where I annoy her/them with food delivery?

I was going to move the water dam to the open side but I don't want her to be really digging that wet wall and I move her to a place where that wet wall is constantly being changed when the new food arrives. I was hoping someone might be able to chime in before I go experimenting.

Any help you can provide would be appreciated!!

Cheers!

RR

JoeHostile1

Re: What's The Importance of Wet Cotton Positioning?

Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:29 am

It’s a combination of high humidity at the cotton the moisture and it being farthest away from the test tube opening. Also the wet cotton might actually be warmer than sitting on the cold glass test tube. Im not really sure what you think the problem is? She is fine hanging out on the wet cotton, there is no need to change anything.

Now you said you’re bothering her and her workers by opening the test tube to feed them. That is correct, what you can do is attach a straw/tube from the test tube into a container (outworld) than just put the food in the container and let the worker ants come out to forage.
Keeping: