Advice for Formicarium

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

nate2o1

Advice for Formicarium

Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:03 pm

Hello ant world! I would like to build my own formicariums and my question is, can i use styrofoam to make the cavities and tunnels and coat it with grout? Will that work? Pros/Cons? Or just don't do it.

nate2o1

Re: Advice for Formicarium

Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:12 pm

Ok, So I decided to build a 10 gallon formicarium using foam blocks and grout. I removed the top frame of the tank to slide the foam blocks in. I had some Styrofoam sheets from one of those food order services. I carved out the tunnels and caverns and coated them with grout. Now this is my first build and would like some advice before I finish it up. I have not installed the top panel for the outworld yet because I want to make sure everything is right before hand. Here are some pics.
10 Gallon Tank with top frame removed

Tunnels and Caverns Blocks

Tank with Blocks Installed

Im pretty sure that I need to fix things so any advice/criticism would help me keep the ants alive.
By the way I will be housing a colony of camponotus pennsylvanicus that I accidentally found in my shed when I was rummaging through some old photos. They were destroying my old photo albums so I decided to collect the colony. It is mature with hundreds of ants and hundreds of eggs.
Image.

Thanks for Helping

Thorond0r

Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:04 am

This is my first year of ant keeping and so far i've only used test tubes and some very small containers as outworlds so i'm by no means an expert. First off i think what you made looks very nice but i'm not sure how well this nest can be moisturized. I have never used grout myself, but won't that block the water from entering the nest?
First year of antkeeping, already enjoying it!