Nesting

General Off Topic Chat and Discussions

Moderator: ooper01

Dann28

Nesting

Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:58 pm

My ant colony hasnt been too great... their numbers have been the same for a few months (including winter) and much of their trash is in the nest. They pile their dead outside but their trash is in the nest. Now that i realize it, their nest is a bit big. And as in big i mean my ant colony only takes up 1 chamber out of an estimate of 15 or above. They have tons of brood and the workers are fine. I did a few counts yesterday and i have around 27-29 ants in total. They have a pretty big brood pile also. I know that ants pile up their trash and dead in their nest if it is too big. Their trash is in the nest but they put their dead outside. I am very confused and in my best efforts of trying to find infornation, i have ended up here. If someone can help it will be much appreciated.
Im still a beginner :D .
-Camponatus Clarithorax /w 2 queens

Dann28

Re: Nesting

Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:58 pm

Sorry if i repeated some things, im just sort of worried about my colony...

Hunter36o

Wed May 01, 2019 5:13 am

Well to be honest you kinda answered it for your self. The nest is way too big if only one chamber is being used.
The fact you have a grave site and the number have seemed consistent plus there is plenty of brood would suggest that their reproduction and mortality are at the same rate.

Try examining the nest and colony a little closer. Do a little checklist to find out:
Is the temp to high or low?
Is the space freaking out the colony?
Are they eating properly?
Are new eggs being produced? (If the queen is stressed she will stop laying eggs)
Is it too bright for them in the nest?