Just a few Questions.

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

ACAdelaide

Just a few Questions.

Sat Jun 30, 2018 11:45 am

Hey Everyone!
Hope everyone’s doing well!
I’m very new to ant keeping and AntsCanada is the very reason why I got into this! So you may have seen or even spoke about these things before... so please be nice to me haha. Just finally worked out how I can post a new topic... I hope it saves... let alone read it... anyways, if this does work, awesome! So I’ve got a few questions. Sorry I’m advance if you’ve already talked about these...

1.Got myself camponotus nigriceps queen a while back. Now have 10 workers, yay! My wife finally came to terms with my new hobby. Found out that the mrs has been feeding them flies (by a fly swatter, now she admits that she brought it just to feed the ants) when I’ve been going to work. Now they won’t take anything else, such as, baby and tiny crickets, cockroach legs, crushed mealworms and even small bits, fruit, nuts, and occasionally honey from time to time. But when I put a fly in, they swarm it. How should I go about it? Should I continue with this, with also the risk of the flies may have pesticides? I live in Adelaide, so it’s cold at the moment,I think it’s still winter, anyways, so the flies aren’t around a lot. Should I let them stave for a bit then try other foods? Please help me!?

2. As you’ve read my wife’s into the ant keeping business now. Kinda scared actually, lol. She spends more time with them, than I do. She’s been harping at me to get some more, now as I’m still new to this, what would you guys recommend for a still beginner? I don’t mind the wait of them growing. Though I don’t think she will. Hahaha...