New ant hobbyist

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

Marcolepsy

New ant hobbyist

Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:32 am

Hey gang,

New ant enthusiast here.

I caught a camponotus queen (at least I’m 99% sure, it has an enlarged mid body with wing scars). I put it in a test tube setup on about June 1st, but it may be worth mentioning the test tube was very small, she could still turn around though. I also ordered an ant farm to move her to after she layed some eggs.

I left her in the tube in the dark undisturbed until the farm arrived.

At this point she had not layed a single egg. Being an impatient beginner, I moved the test tube into the outworld of the farm and pulled the plug. This was about June 15. She has still yet to lay an egg.

The new farm is small - the outworld is about 10x15 cm and the Formicarium is sized to match. I can post a picture of the queen or ant if necessary.

I have since read that camponotus often take a long time to start a colony, and that you should not move them from a test tube early.

My question is this: should I leave her as is, or put her back into a test tube? Should I get a larger tube or will another small one be fine?

Any tips or suggestions will be greatly appreciared! If she fails I may look in to buying from the GAN Project. I don’t seem to be able to find any outdoors!

AntsIkhlef

Re: New ant hobbyist

Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:54 am

(please picture) Hi! :D i'm also new yet to find a queen, but people have made me learn a whole lot. Carpenter ants are veryyyyy slow and the queen will very much take as much time as possible, this is why i'm looking towards a Lasius niger queen instead of a camponotus ,( coz i'm impatient too... :twisted: ) but keep on taking care of her... hopes she start laying eggs! :cry:
Beginner here!
I am new to this and I have just founded my first colonies! :geek:

Keeper of:

2x Lasius niger
1x Lasius neglectus/i]

🐜❤️4ever

AntsIkhlef

Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:56 am