Aceeey the Ant Noob!

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

Aceeey

Aceeey the Ant Noob!

Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:03 am

Good day/evening everyone,

My name is Ace and I'm really new to keeping Ants. I was watching a few (a lot) of the AntsCanada videos on youtube and totally got into AntKeeping. I wanted to challenge myself to create an ant colony from one queen and to attempt to make it grow and stay healthy. I watched the tutorial video on how to identify a queen ant, then I watched Mikeys last vlog while he was out looking for queens. It was about 1:30AM when I decided to look for a queen. It's pretty warm out here in Los Angeles at the moment so I ended up capturing two queens. I separated both into different tube set ups...

I didn't think they'd survive without food, but when I checked on the queens the next morning, they looked great and were still gnawing at the cotton. I wrapped the tubes up in foil to keep light out, and put it in the coolest part of the house. It's hot in Los Angeles right now and I live in an apartment with no air conditioning. Insulation sucks so it's warm here. I don't want to let the ants over heat, so I put them in the coolest part of the apartment. Again, it's still pretty warm in that area.

I left on August 6 around 8:30AM for a short trip to Santa Barbara for my girlfriends birthday. I just got home around 12:30AM (August 10) and I decided to check on my queen ants. It looks like they have laid eggs!!! Mikey has a sick camera with awesome macro footage so I'm used to seeing ant eggs a little bigger. In my test tubes, the eggs look smaller than a pin hole. Here are some potato quality pictures from my iPotato 6 Plus: