Adding larvae

Main Forum Topics,Forum news, updates, announcements, Forum Rules, Questions, Support, and Suggestions.
Post Reply
BuckeyeAntLover
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Ohio

Adding larvae

Post: # 21474Post BuckeyeAntLover
Sun May 21, 2017 2:56 pm

I found a wingless camponotus queen a few weeks ago and tubed her. She still has not laid any eggs. Does anyone know what would happen if I put larvae from another colony in with this queen? Do you think it would entice her to start laying her own, at the same time taking no care of the foreign larvae, or would it stress her out, causing more delays or problems? I've tried feeding a fresh rollypolly, but she did not touch it. She has taken to honey, however I don't know how often and how much to give her, and I don't want to dirty up her tube with uneaten food items. Any guidance would be appreciated. ;)

Martialis
Posts: 1575
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:30 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: Adding larvae

Post: # 21488Post Martialis
Sun May 21, 2017 7:16 pm

Pupae will be accepted by most Camponotus. Larvae will not.
Keeper of

Selliing:

User avatar
Batspiderfish
Posts: 3345
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: Maine

Re: Adding larvae

Post: # 21491Post Batspiderfish
Sun May 21, 2017 8:28 pm

How did you find the queen?
If you enjoy my expertise and identifications, please do not put wild populations at risk of disease by releasing pet colonies. We are responsible to give our pets the best care we can manage for the rest of their lives.

BuckeyeAntLover
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 5:36 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Adding larvae

Post: # 21499Post BuckeyeAntLover
Sun May 21, 2017 9:24 pm

I was planting flowers in a flower box about a month ago and she was in the dirt of the box.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: StigmaticSpark4 and 1 guest