New to the Forum and Ant Keeping

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

Aussie

New to the Forum and Ant Keeping

Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:15 pm

Hello all,

I am brand new to ant keeping and recently acquired my first queen, I captured it as it looked strange because of its larger size. Intrigued I started researching about queen ants, fascinated by AntsCanada's YouTube video on starting an ant colony I decided to give ant keeping a go.

I believe the species is Iridomyrmex purpureus otherwise known as Meat Ants because of the way they devour animal carcasses. If someone could confirm that later (I'm unable to get any decent photos atm)

I did not have any test tubes by found a urine bottle that you get from the doctors instead (strange I know). Also worth mentioning is that i am an adamant fish keeper and breeder and have been for about 3 years. So I had a couple of spare tanks that I didn't need and I converted two into formacariums (spelling?). The first, a tiny 20L plastic tank I used to keep the nest (aka urine bottle with some rain water and cotton balls stuffed inside) safe and escape proof.

The tank and nest I kept in the cabinet of a larger tank so it was very dark, after 2 weeks she had layed eggs, although as I am very impatient stressed her out when I checked on her and she ate those eggs. Frustrated I decided to leave her for exactly 1 month. I checked on her again and was shocked when I found 9 workers inside with her, at the time I thought they were workers from a wild colony that had gotten in and eaten her but when (again impatience struck) I removed the nest for a close look saw she was still alive and that they were indeed her workers.