Two queens one keeps laying males what do i do

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

InsaneWind

Two queens one keeps laying males what do i do

Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:19 pm

Hello,

I am new to trying to care for ants and i got into this entirely by accident. I was given a gaming table that flips from Pool to Air hockey and well in the score slider i had found carpenter ants and some brood. I thought i might have two queens and well i am right i do have two queens however one is clearly not producing workers but instead male ants. I do not know which of the two queens is only producing males but i wish to seperate her from the other queen to ensure that i do not a huge amount of male ants in the colony as the males seem to be trying to breed with the brood and the workers are spending a lot of time and energy pulling the males around and actually pulling their wings off.

I would really like some advice here as im lost at what to do about this very odd situation.

Also how would i go about finding out which queen is laying the male eggs?

AntsLuxembourg

Re: Two queens one keeps laying males what do i do

Mon Nov 29, 2021 2:37 am

InsaneWind wrote:
Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:19 pm
Hello,

I am new to trying to care for ants and i got into this entirely by accident. I was given a gaming table that flips from Pool to Air hockey and well in the score slider i had found carpenter ants and some brood. I thought i might have two queens and well i am right i do have two queens however one is clearly not producing workers but instead male ants. I do not know which of the two queens is only producing males but i wish to seperate her from the other queen to ensure that i do not a huge amount of male ants in the colony as the males seem to be trying to breed with the brood and the workers are spending a lot of time and energy pulling the males around and actually pulling their wings off.