Newbie at ant keeping - Having problems/questions with queen ant!

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Oinkus

Newbie at ant keeping - Having problems/questions with queen ant!

Thu Nov 11, 2021 5:18 pm

Hello! As i said in the title, i am a newbie at ant keeping, and i got a queen ant almost by accident some 1-2 months ago.
I did the test tube setup, put some water, cotton, had some hesitations about food, but decided not to feed after i read a post here...
Well, in some time, she laid eggs!, about 6 of them, altough they needed some time to develop, eventually they grew bigger...
But then came a problem, some days ago, i believe one egg hatched, and the, or what appears to be a larva, is (i believe) dead...
I dont really know what happened, but im really worried about her and her eggs.

she is a Camponotus, i did not find the specific species, but im still in the works...

(im also worried about that black stuff on the left cotton, should i move her to a new, bigger one?)

Brazilian ant keeper :D

Current colonies:
2 Camponotus Rufipes
Crematogaster Crinosa?
Unidentified Camponotus

Elrichiz

Re: Newbie at ant keeping - Having problems/questions with queen ant!

Thu Nov 11, 2021 8:06 pm

Welcome to ant keeping!

First of all, the queen is perfect in there. If the black thing gets bigger, you should connect another test tube (with the same size) and she'll decide to move in there.

Maybe, she ate the larvae because of stress. If you didn't know, you must put firstly a red cellophane around the test tube, then a rag in top of it. You MUST leave the queen in a silent and ventilated place.

Also, you mustn't check on the queen very often because she gets stressed. You must check on the queen every 5-7 days.

Finally, the place mustn't have any vibrations or agressive movements near. Put the queen in the most silent and peaceful place in your house.

Greetings

Antloverhuman

Thu Nov 11, 2021 9:29 pm