New colony after nuptial flight - help

Temporary placeholder

Moderators: ooper01, Trusted User

ewwojo

New colony after nuptial flight - help

Fri May 22, 2020 9:25 am

Hello,
I am very new to ant "farming". We love the show though and my 3 year old daughter has been on the hunt for a queen since we started watching it with her, months ago. Well, we hit the jackpot and there was a nuptial flight happening in our yard. Thousands of winged large red ants swarming part of our garden. We didn't want to miss the opportunity so we caught some... But I am not sure if that works. How can I be sure which ones are female and if they mated? Can we just move them to a terrarium and let them do their thing/sort out who the queen will be?

Thanks for your kindness with a complete newbee! Please refer me to any forums that might be helpful. I tried searching for this topic but couldn't find anything. I find this forum a little tricky to navigate. Any tips welcome!

Thx Emily

NKantsalberta

Re: New colony after nuptial flight - help

Fri May 22, 2020 9:51 am

Hi Emily!

Chances are, any of those winged ants you caught directly by the nest are unfertilized. They need to fly out to mate with males from a different colony. From the amount you witnessed, it should not be hard to spot some wingless queens wandering your yard / neighbourhood.

Now, for founding your first colony.

Your best bet, would be to house them like on AntsCanada in a test tube set-up (he has video examples) or in a small container that can easily be kept moistened and warm, with minimal disturbance to the queen. This way you can periodically check-up on her to ensure she is still alive. And much easier to monitor when it is time to feed them once workers arrive.

Just dumping a bunch of queens / ants into a terrarium set-up is not advised, as you may not have a fertile queen as mentioned above. Also, the queens, if indeed fertile, will fight each other to the death at some point (depending on species).