Nuptial Flights in Georgia, USA for July?

Where and when are you finding queen ants? A section to share nuptial flight schedules by ant species and locality

Moderator: ooper01

AJWhit22

Nuptial Flights in Georgia, USA for July?

Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:56 am

Can anyone in the Southeast list some of the ants that have their nuptial flights in July? I am in Atlanta, GA and looking to find some queens. Thanks!

jimmjonzz

Re: Nuptial Flights in Georgia, USA for July?

Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:36 am

A reply, for what it's worth, from a complete novice.

Today is July15, 2018. Here in Marietta GA, I've just caught an extremely minute queen ant... crawling on the wall in my bathroom where a window was left open. I put a previously prepared test tube with water reservoir behind cotton ball over her... she crawled straight to the cotton and drank.

Yes, I have prepared tubes in my car and in my kitchen and in my bathroom! Why? Because having failed to find any queens on my outdoor searches, in May I found a queen Camponotus pennsylvanicus crawling across my kitchen floor. She has produced so far half a dozen workers plus assorted eggs, larvae, and pupae/cocoons. So I've prepared for the eventuality of similar random encounters.

I had to use a magnifying glass to be certain she was an ant! She still has her wings, and I hope that she has already mated. It rained yesterday, Sunday, and I found her at 6:00 AM today, Monday. Reddish color, plump gaster, with alternating bands of yellowish brown and darker reddish brown. I imagine this stripe effect to be a matter of the lighter underlying tissue being exposed by her distended gaster pushing aside the darker outer cuticle (terminology?).