Advice on Catching Camponotus Pennsylvanicus Queens

Where and when are you finding queen ants? A section to share nuptial flight schedules by ant species and locality

Moderator: ooper01

Swirlby

Advice on Catching Camponotus Pennsylvanicus Queens

Sun May 22, 2022 12:56 am

I'm very new to ant-keeping, and I decided that I want to catch some carpenter ant queens and hopefully get my first colony going with one of them. There's an abundance of these big black carpenter ants at my grandparents' house, and they can be seen scurrying around on the driveway at any time of day. I've taken a look at them, and done some research, and they're definitely Camponotus Pennsyvanicus ants, in my extremely amateur opinion.

I haven't had much time to go looking, since my schedule has been pretty booked as of late. I've watched plenty of videos on searching for queens, but I would like some tips on where and when to look, and if there's anything I should know about this particular species.

Particularly, I'd like to know when the best time to look for them is. I know that most ants have their nuptial flights after a rain shower, but it would be nice to know if they come out at a particular time of day, and what time of day is best to go looking for them.

KuroiOokami

Re: Advice on Catching Camponotus Pennsylvanicus Queens

Sun May 22, 2022 6:20 am