TinyAnt's Camponotus Castaneus Journal

Share your Ant Journals, Youtube Channels, and Blogs with the global ant community

Moderator: ooper01

TinyAnt

TinyAnt's Camponotus Castaneus Journal

Sun Jun 09, 2019 2:24 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first attempt at ant keeping and I'm excited to announce I managed to catch 4 C. Castaneus queens outside my work in St. Louis, MO on June 7th :D . I forgot to take pictures because I wanted to get then in their new homes as quickly as possible. The tubes I have them in are opaque so I can't get any clear pictures but in about a week I will have updates. I'm going to try and move them into clear test tubes so I can get a better view of them growing, but until then I'm going to leave them alone for a week as I've seen from others that this species is very timid and might eat it's babies :o . With any luck I'll have 3 extra queens for the GAN Project if anyone in St. Louis is interested. This is going to be an adventure and I'll be back on soon!
Life is beautiful, big or small.

Founding:
4 × Camponotus Castaneus
3 x Random Queens yet to be identified
1 x Colobopsis Impressa
1 x Aphaenogaster

TinyAnt

Re: TinyAnt's Camponotus Castaneus Journal

Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:22 pm

Hello fellow ant enthusiasts. I'm back after what seemed like a very long week with updates on my Camponotus Castaneus's. Let's take a look shall we.

Onto the first queen, I don't see any eggs and the queen still has her wings on. I've noticed this one looks a little smaller than the other queen's so it could be she hasn't mated. Hopefully she lays some eggs here soon or I'll have to let her go. One of the other queens also hasn't had any eggs either, but I'm going to keep them for a little while longer before releasing them back into the wild.

Now onto the good stuff. First looking at this tube I can see some tiny dots that look exactly like some eggs right next to the wing. :D Image

Upon further inspection she definitely has some eggs. SUCCESS!