In and Out of The Nest

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Patar139

In and Out of The Nest

Thu Jun 10, 2021 12:34 pm

Hello! I am a newbie looking for some input on some strange behavior exhibited by my Camponotus colony! I believe I am having some issues getting their humidity balance right. You guys be the judge! I recently introduced them into their hybrid nest and I think from the start I had to much water underneath. The Queen never left the nest, but every morning there would be a large collection of ants with a pile of eggs and brood just outside the nest in the tube. Around sunset they would pull everyone back inside though. I think this might have been to clear the passage for the workers to go in and out of the outworld during the night while they scavenged. I removed half the wet coco fiber, soaked up excess water, and replaced the removed fiber with dry fiber. the behavior continued, but the amount of ants and the pile appeared to decrease. All other behavior seems normal. eating and drinking regularly and happily. Everything equiptment wise is new and cleaned properly. The room is kept warm. They are just in and out haha. After a week or so I began to worry the fiber was going to get to dry and that maybe I should add just a touch of water. I added around a tablespoon or two. They didn't appear to immediately hate it like they did when I knew I obviously had way to much water. It has been two days now and this morning I found they are all in the tube now. Queen included. Do you guys think it was the water again? Or could there be some other factor I'm over looking because I'm too busy focusing on the humidity issue?! I checked underneath and there isn't and extra build up of water, in fact the dry half I put back in appears the be pretty dry still. Any help is appreciated! <3

AntsLuxembourg

Re: In and Out of The Nest

Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:13 am

Hey,