Should My Colony of Tetramorium be growing?

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

UpperLeft

Should My Colony of Tetramorium be growing?

Wed Oct 14, 2020 2:13 pm

Hi there, I'm new to ant keeping and have been reading lots in the forum to try and see if I could find an answer to this but haven't seen one yet. I have a new Tetramorium colony still in a test tube and when I got them, they had about 10 workers with a small pile of brood. Since I've gotten them about 20 days ago, they seem to be at 10 workers still, and the pile of brood seems exactly the same size. Meanwhile, the cotton in their test tube has gotten moldier and moldier, and the water is all but gone. I've provided them with a new test tube to move into, kept the new test tube dark, and they are eating what I've been feeding them, both carbs and protein, but I'm wondering, is it normal for the colony to not grow at all in 20 days? Could they just be preparing to hibernate? And from most of the responses I've seen on this forum, I'm just supposed to let them choose when to move into the new test tube, but could the state of their test tube be affecting the growth of the colony?

Weaver

Re: Should My Colony of Tetramorium be growing?

Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:24 pm