Leaf cutter ants (Atta/Acromyrmex) Experience

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Rafinha1xD

Leaf cutter ants (Atta/Acromyrmex) Experience

Sat May 09, 2020 9:10 pm

Greeting AC family!
I'm planning to raise an ant colony using my DIY formicarium (I'd love to have one of those oninests from AntsCanada, but, I cannot afford it right now).

The thing is: I'm a beginner ant keeper to be and, although I have made 5 ant nests for 5 public schools in my neighborhood, I'm a little bit scary, I'm from São Paulo, Brazil and the only queen ants I could encounter so far were Leaf cutter ants, Atta, to be more specific.
And I learned, by the experience in the public schools, that those ants require a lot of space, to harvest their fungus. The nests I built in the schools had to be transformed, because, the ants had occupied every single corner of their previous nest with their fungus, so I had to add more space for their fungus. I was very surprised and lucky to have a lot of ant loving children, teachers and even some parents in the school that wanted to help the ants by helping me to creating more space while saving a lot of workers, it was a really rewarding experience.

So, now I want to raise my own colony, of course, I'll be looking for a lot of different ant queen species, but by experience, the only sure ant queen to find will be the famous leaf cutter ant. That's why I need your help AC family. Can I "dictate" the size of the colony? Some times I think that in the schools the children are always feeding leafs to the ants, so their numbers wold increase right? But, at the same time, I know the ants eat their fungus, so I cannot "control" the colony size.

Someone can help me? Any tips on how to care for those ants without creating a colony that, eventually will become much larger than I can keep?