Hawkeye

Welcome to the Camponotus Crew!

Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:32 pm

Admin Note:
This is the old topic. Please continue here:
https://forum.AntsCanada.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=21893

Original Post:

Hi there!

Whether you are an experienced ant keeper, or completely new, we'd love to hear from you!
Please use this thread to ask questions, keep us updated on the progress of your colonies, share information on suitable setups and much more!

We're happy to help, eager to find out about your experiences and generally up for a laugh!

I'll ask the other members of our little Camponotus Crew to introduce themselves, but let me start by listing my own colonies:

I currently have 2 Camponotus ligniperda Queens and 4 Lasius niger Queens. I am quite new to keeping ants, but I've done a lot of research and plan to build a huge natural setup which I aspire to become a small (mostly) self-sustaining biotope.

CANant

Re: Welcome to the Camponotus Crew!

Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:31 pm

What a great idea Hawkeye!

Hello Camponotus Crew!!

I’m totally blown away by how “big” ant keeping has become, by the knowledge and information now available, and by how many awesome people there are all over the world keeping ants (so many different species too).

I guess it’s safe to say I have always been fascinated with ants in general. I have dabbled with ant keeping (specifically Camponotus) but I stopped for many years because of repeated failures and not having a clue why.
Strangely enough I very randomly came across an AntsCanada video. I found myself binge watching and have been researching since. I’m pretty certain I have discovered why I was repeatedly failing so I thought why not give this another serious shot.