I think my queen is dying! D=

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

CrazyJewels

I think my queen is dying! D=

Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:32 pm

Hello fellow ant lovers!

I am ashamed to say I think I'm a horrible ant keeper..

Around 6 months ago I had created a post for help in identification of the ant queen I had caught: Post: # 34902
CrazyJewels wrote:
Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:39 pm
Hello Ant lovers!
I am new to ant keeping and need help identifying my very first queen! (see link below)
I have caught this queen a few months ago (1-2 months ago) here in Auckland, New Zealand (in the city centre, son't know if that info helps). It took a while to lay its eggs, I lost hope and thought it was a major worker after a month of waiting. It is around 7mm long and very dark black in colour (so I don't think it is an Argentine queen which are big pests here in NZ and so I would not be allowed to keep this colony). I'm hoping it's a native species!

Here are the photos:
https://imgur.com/a/QBdNi - Sorry for the bad quality photos, I can't seem to get closer to the ant without my camera getting all blurry

FYI, the ant queen is in a 15mL falcon tube, and the distance from the 4mL mark to the 7mL mark is 2cm.

I'd like to know if it's fully claustral or not (I gave it a drop of honey ages ago and wanted to know if I should give it a bit of uncooked egg yolk or egg white).