Total noob question in regards to ant hunting

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Gatekey56

Total noob question in regards to ant hunting

Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:06 am

Hey simple question , when is the best time to go out for an ant walk? Its raining right now, and i was wondering would it be best to head out an hour or so after it stops, or should i wait for tomorrow afternoon? whats been best in yalls experence?

cheetawolf

Re: Total noob question in regards to ant hunting

Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:07 pm

go tomorrow in the afternoon, look for queens where there is lots of greenery and maybe a body of water nearby.
happy hunting!
Fellow Ant Keeper!
Youtuber
Channel name: Evador (please check out my channel that would be epic)
link-https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-7SIjQbnXF6_w-5cCT9A7A

GAN farmer in BC Canada

MorbidBugg

Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:07 pm

Well I've honestly had good experiences all around. Like if it stops a few hours before the sun goes down check out near light posts on streets as they will sometimes mate under that light and you can get lucky to find a bunch of queens on the ground around them that have already she'd their wings. This also works if stores have bright lights.

If it rains into the dark wait for the Crack of dawn the humidity will kick in and you'll see them flying (they remind me of space rockets launching in feilds lol) an hour or two after you've seen them fly check along any sort of path or surface that cuts along a grass side and you'll have a greater success. And I can't stress enough look under debris on sidewalks and cracks I can't count how many times I've been suprised.
Ants are life's most successful invaders. Understand and respect that power.

Gatekey56

Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:06 pm

cheetawolf wrote:
Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:07 pm
go tomorrow in the afternoon, look for queens where there is lots of greenery and maybe a body of water nearby.
happy hunting!
Thanks!! i hope to find something new

AntnoobSG