Eggs not Hatching

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

Mjolnir

Eggs not Hatching

Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:14 pm

Hello, I'm new to the ant keeping world and have been pretty confused by the behaviour Iv seen in a queen carpenter ants I found this past July. She layed eggs a few weeks after she was caught. But even now her eggs have not hatched. I don't think they have turned into larvae either. Is it possible that they are dead eggs? She still protects and cares for them. She's in a very dark, quiet place. What am I doing wrong?!?!

SolenopsisKeeper

Re: Eggs not Hatching

Tue Jan 04, 2022 5:28 pm

Mjolnir wrote:
Hello, I'm new to the ant keeping world and have been pretty confused by the behaviour Iv seen in a queen carpenter ants I found this past July. She layed eggs a few weeks after she was caught. But even now her eggs have not hatched. I don't think they have turned into larvae either. Is it possible that they are dead eggs? She still protects and cares for them. She's in a very dark, quiet place. What am I doing wrong?!?!
If they were dead, she would eat them or remove of them. They also should be rotting. It may be that she is preparing for hibernation, as Camponotus hibernate in the winter. Have you put her through hibernation?(Unless of course you are in a tropical country) My ants will go through diapause even though it is 60 degrees in the morning and 80 degrees midday.(That town is in Michigan right?)

Another possibility is that she eats her eggs and lays new ones constantly. I have never heard of this, but it is possible, as my Camponotus ants somehow went from egg to cocoon in 3 weeks!!! (I do have a different species of course)
When you accidentally reply to yourself…

AntsLuxembourg

Wed Jan 05, 2022 3:04 am

Mjolnir wrote: