Got Ants and Questions (beginner)

Questions from those who are just starting or considering getting into the ant keeping hobby. If you’re intimidated or confused by the in-depth posts of the other sections of this forum, feel free to post here, and we'll start from square one!

Moderator: ooper01

breather

Got Ants and Questions (beginner)

Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:34 am

Hi

I bought myself some Lasius Niger and I got them yesterday, 12 Workers and 1 Queen.
I’m a beginner and I need help.

I noticed two things in the test tube, am I correct in thinking the “web” stuff is just debries from the cotton, and is it possible that that those out of focus, white, round things are eggs?

Thanks

breather

Re: Got Ants and Questions (beginner)

Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:59 am

Kdwaine wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:43 am
Yes, you are correct about both.
Thought so, thanks for confirming.

Exciting being a beginner at this. :)

Nylanderiavividula

Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:43 am

Super exciting and addictive! I am only a month in and I still have sleepless nights because my brain won’t shut down due to ant-thoughts. The hardest part for newbies like me and you is (from what I gather on here and in formiculture.com) patience!! Do you know if your queen has been fed? It may be that a very small drop of honey water would be beneficial for her and her workers. You may try giving them a very small drop and a very small bug (like a prekilled/slightly mushed termite worker). If you can manage to do this without letting them escape, you may then close the tube back up and keep them in the dark totally unbothered (that’s the hard part) for two weeks.

breather

Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:47 am

Yes, it’s quite exciting.

They are all still in their tube, but the tube is in the outworld which is connected to a nest for when they are ready.