Camponatous maybe??

Help with identifying the species your ants

Moderator: ooper01

martinnate

Camponatous maybe??

Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:23 pm

Hi everyone, Please help me ID I'm still new to ant keeping but I think she is Camponatous spp. I found her 3/26/16 in Cisco Texas around 3pm. Here are 4 pics of her. Sorry if they are not that great quality.

NikolaMladenovic

Re: Camponatous maybe??

Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:44 pm

Made some research and I think that that is a camponotus noveboracencis. You can google the specie yourself and see if it matches your queen :D
I'm very ANThusiastic :lol:

martinnate

Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:17 pm

Cool, thanks!! So do you know if I should put some type of bedding? Maybe bark or Some Spagnum moss?

soldierjoe83

Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:12 pm

I have Campontus n colonys.i say its a good chance but by the pics you cant tell for sure. It could also be Camponotus H. They are so similar. But a campo for sure.

soldierjoe83

Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:16 pm

Also don't add any bedding. They are fine in test tubes ir anything that can keep them hydrated clean and warm. Out her in a test tube set up. Look it up if you don't know what it is and let her be in the dark. Seeing she is campo I say you can look at her 1 or 2 times a week.

martinnate

Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:14 pm

Cool thanks so much to all of you. I havent looked at her sinces last Monday. I am in such a hurry to get home to see how my ants made it. My flight home is at 6:55am monday but wont be home till 2:22pm Monday lol I think it was good I left for a week, I would be looking every day. I hope she has eggs. I will get some pics and post. Thanks again.

martinnate

Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:08 pm

Hey everyone, she has an egg as of today 4/6/16 I will let her go a week again b4 I check on her again.

Mdrogun

Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:48 pm

Just to let you know there are a few species of Camponotus that are practically impossible to tell apart without a microscope as colors can slightly vary.

They are: