Camponotus Egg Development?

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

jfree3719

Re: Camponotus Egg Development?

Mon Jul 27, 2015 6:42 pm

Hey Dill, i am still an amateur ant keeper as well, but in my experience i have had queens live for up to 3 months before i fed them and their brood. Be patient and let nature run its course. Your queen will be fine:) I haven't kept a camponotus queen yet but from my experience with my various ants they usually take 6 to 8 weeks to turn into a brood. Hope this helps:)

Ants4fun

Tue Jul 28, 2015 1:03 am

Keeping them at warmer temperatures with make brood development a lot faster. They should be hatching any day now by the way.

antscanada
Main Forum Admin

Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:31 am

dillpickle1621 wrote:Hey guys, this is my first colony and I have a Camponotus queen. She has laid a bundle of eggs and has been taking care of them for about two weeks now. How long does it generally take the eggs to develop into brood? Also I am starting to get worried about not feeding my queen. It's been almost a month and I haven't fed her. She doesn't look frail, thin, or tired, so she's probably still ok right?

Thank you so much!

Dillpickle
Yes, I agree. It takes a minimum of 2 months for Camponotus. I find Camponotus ants in general take a longer time to get started but once the colony gets going (usually after hibernation the following year), boy do they explode!
Ant Love Forever.

KingAnt

Wed Jul 29, 2015 7:48 am

I've had my Camponotus queen for a month, and she laid her first eggs two weeks ago. The only thing I give her is honey water. She'll drink from it and than go right back to her eggs. I keep my queen in a room that is at 78 degrees. You can always get a heat cable if you want, just don't over heat them.
Looking for a fire ant queen in Manitoba.

KingAnt

Wed Jul 29, 2015 10:53 pm