Odontomachus care

Discussions about the care and keeping of ants

Moderator: ooper01

Yestordsd287

Odontomachus care

Mon May 08, 2017 9:54 pm

hello guys! im very new to ant keeping and i got started on Sunday.
this happened whenat night i spoted a very big ant with only one side with wings running on the floor. i understood it was a queen. i proceeded to catch her and put her in a test tube set up. i tried feeding the queen some honey but after some sips she just started ignoring it. i got worried at that because she is a semi claustral queen. the next morning i observed she sheded the last of her wings. i watch some information in internet about this ants diet and went searching for bugs. i gave her a baby roach very small pre killed an 2 beetles that were very small. when she saw them she started panickig and running in circles not even getting close to the food. she alwars hangs on the cottons and usually when shes on the dry side she tries to find a way to escape. she eats scarcely and has not laid eggs, i caught her Saturday May 6. i really need some advise on this species because its the first queen i have caugt and i want a good colony out of that base. so i need to know what to feed her, how to feed her, how make her comfortable, how to have the setup, and some basic care because i dont know much about care of semi-claustral species. thank you and please answer me as soon as possible

Yestordsd287

Re: Odontomachus care

Mon May 08, 2017 10:40 pm

oh here are some picture if im wrong that it is an odontomachus

JackPayne

Mon May 08, 2017 10:53 pm

Yep it definetely is.
Hi I'm Jack, How are you?

xTNxANTMANx

Mon May 08, 2017 11:47 pm