planning a semi-claustral setup.

Show us your formicariums and ant setup, ask formicarium-related questions, or share your experiences with building an ant home. Here you will also find formicarium requirements for specific ant species.

Moderator: ooper01

JPSMedeiros

planning a semi-claustral setup.

Sat Oct 15, 2016 2:17 pm

Hello, i'm new to ant keeping and I have to make an out-world for my Pachycondyla sp that is semi-claustral.

I'm thinking in buying one of these:

and place some stuff inside, but i don't know yet what, could use some help. And to keep it dark, what should I do?

MimzytheBun

Re: planning a semi-claustral setup.

Sat Oct 15, 2016 6:26 pm

It is hard to tell but that looks like quite a large plastic bin. If you've only got your queen right now, I'd recommend using something much smaller along the lines of a Tupperware container. I'm trying to found two semi claustral queens right now and I found even with a cereal box sized container they seem to wander out of their nest quite a lot.

Everything I've read suggests you don't want to add too much in the way of things in the outworld, especially when your queens are just founding. It should be low stress and easy to clean/care for. Are you going to be using a test tube as their nest site?

JPSMedeiros

Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:59 pm

MimzytheBun wrote:It is hard to tell but that looks like quite a large plastic bin. If you've only got your queen right now, I'd recommend using something much smaller along the lines of a Tupperware container. I'm trying to found two semi claustral queens right now and I found even with a cereal box sized container they seem to wander out of their nest quite a lot.

Everything I've read suggests you don't want to add too much in the way of things in the outworld, especially when your queens are just founding. It should be low stress and easy to clean/care for. Are you going to be using a test tube as their nest site?