Camponotus atriceps, am I doing it right?

General discussions about ants

Moderator: ooper01

TheAwesomeOne

Camponotus atriceps, am I doing it right?

Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:17 pm

Hello. A few months ago i purchased a C. atriceps queen through the GAN project! Its my first time ant keeping, and so i thought id ask a few questions here. Currently there are 5-6 workers, about the same number that she came with. A few are new, and a few of the workers she came with sadly passed away for some reason pretty soon after i got them, not sure why :(

I have them in a round plastic enclosure I bought from the local pet store, which is currently in my closet. I didnt have any sanitized soil readily available so i also got some reptile sand to use until i move them into a real formicarium setup. Is it okay to use sand for my Camponotus ants? They've piled it up at the entrance to the test tube so only the top half is open, so it seems like they dont mind it.

The way i have it set up is i have two test tubes sitting in the container on one side, covered partially with sand, and also with half of a toilet paper roll cardboard piece covering them to provide shade from the light. The first test tube is the original they came in and the other one is filled with sugar water next to it. For light, i have a small lamp pointing at the wall near the setup so its keeping the sand from being too cold. I dont have it pointing at the sand directly, i wouldnt want to bake my ants!!!
However im still worried about the temperature. My house is normally around 70-75 degrees, and the light in my closet makes it maybe a little warmer in there. I have the door cracked open so it doesnt get too hot, though. Ive also been turning the light off at night to simulate day and night.. is this necessary? Is it harmful? Should i forget the lamp and keep just the closet light on during the day?