Hello from Fort Worth, Texas

Meet and Greet for New Members

Moderator: ooper01

NanceUSMC

Hello from Fort Worth, Texas

Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:53 pm

Howdy from Fort Worth!

I'm brand new to the hobby, and have never (yet) had a formicarium... I am still deciding what my first species should be, but am close to settling in on Camponotus and Pogonomyrmex.... Species that seem to be large enough that I shouldn't have to worry terribly with escapes...

If I'm successful with those, I think I'd like to take a stab at Attas or Acromyrmex...

Personally, I'm an IT professional specializing in application support in the medical field, and am an advanced aquarist with a little over a dozen tanks set up for breeding full red koi angels, attempting to breed pearlscale angels, and attempting to breed bulgarian seal point angels... I also keep and breed painted fire red shrimp, crystal red and crystal black shrimp...

Then there's the cats, dogs, horses and kids... =)

So, now I've decided to do something I always wanted to do growing up, and start my own formicarium... Doing all the research I can, but still have tons of questions... Looking forward to this adventure!

Nj6000

Re: Hello from Fort Worth, Texas

Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:59 pm

Good luck . I'm new too . Just got my first set of workers !

NanceUSMC

Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:27 pm

Nj6000 wrote:
Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:59 pm
Good luck . I'm new too . Just got my first set of workers !
Nice!

What species?

Nj6000

Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:15 am

Pheidole . I'm also raising 2 pogonomyrmex barbatus queens with no workers yet .

NanceUSMC

Mon Sep 04, 2017 12:11 pm

Nj6000 wrote:
Mon Sep 04, 2017 8:15 am
Pheidole . I'm also raising 2 pogonomyrmex barbatus queens with no workers yet .
Pheidole are a neat little ant! Wouldn't mind raising a colony of them myself!

Gatekey56

Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:47 pm