Planning to create future Ant colony. [Help!]

Make your suggestions here.
EvanTheAntLover

Planning to create future Ant colony. [Help!]

Tue May 17, 2016 7:44 pm

So I'm planning to create a future Ant colony. I'm planning to buy a formicarium from the AntsCands website too. The only problem so far is the queen. It's suppose to be cold everyday this week, and I just can't wait to catch a queen. (For anyone wondering I live in Kentucky, so our weather is very bipolar.) Any tips, I have all my test tube setups and I already have an agenda. Also I'm New to this, so I have to experience catching queens. I know about the Flights, just no experience on where to look or to begin. Though there is a Ant Colony in my backyard, and I saw the queen the other day!

AntsRule

Re: Planning to create future Ant colony. [Help!]

Tue May 17, 2016 7:59 pm

Don't worry it is the still the start of the anting season, I felt the same way about a week ago and then BOOM 14 queens! Check this link out it will help a lot with finding queens and how to trap them.
http://www.formiculture.com/topic/2282- ... nt-queens/
I like to look in pools and water sources because hundreds can get trapped in there. Don't be afraid to catch a few just in case one is not fertilized. You can always let them go later on. Do not worry they will come. Watch the weather and and always carry a snap cap bottle on you since you never know where you might find a queen. They like to fly on warm days after big rains. Keep an eye on that colony in your yard queens and males will be seen hanging around or in the nest before the flight.
Good luck and happy anting!!! :D
With all the things ants can do, you wonder, who rules the planet :?

Keeper of:
Camponotus Pennsylvanicus
Pheidole sp.

EvanTheAntLover

Tue May 17, 2016 8:55 pm